Master of Science Program in Clinical Psychopharmacology

Faculty and Staff

Course Instructors

Laura G. Leahy, MSN, APRN, PMH-CNS/FNP, BC
Ms. Leahy received her B.S. in Psychology & Human Development from Duke University in 1987 and her B.S.N. (1989) and M.S.N. (1991) in Child and Family Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing from the University of Pennsylvania. She is presently working on her DrNP at Drexel University and has completed all but her dissertation. Ms. Leahy has also been certified as a Master Psychopharmacologist through Stephen Stahl's Neuroscience Educational Institute. Laura has taught Advanced Psychopharmacology across the Lifespan at the University of Pennsylvania's School of Nursing for the past ten years. She was also involved as a clinical instructor for the inaugural Post-Doctoral Psychopharmacology Program at Fairleigh Dickinson University. Presently, Ms. Leahy maintains a private outpatient practice, specializing in treatment-resistant symptoms and psychopharmacology. She has been prescribing and providing psychotherapy services as a Family Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner for over 23 years. She was the co-founder of Center for Family Guidance, the largest privately held psychiatric mental health organization in New Jersey.

Ms. Leahy recently (May 2013) published The Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology for Nurses through the American Psychiatric Association and had previously published Pocket Psych Drugs (2010) through F. A. Davis. She presents extensively on the local, state and national levels on various topics related to psychopharmacology, pharmacogenetics, child & adolescent psychiatric disorders & pharmacological treatments as well as women's mental health, among other areas of psychiatry and mental health.

Michael A. Ansonoff, Ph.D.
Dr. Ansonoff received his Ph.D. from the Sue Golding Graduate program at Albert Einstein Medical School of Yeshiva University (Neuroscience Program) following training in the laboratory of Dr. Anne Etgen on cellular and behavioral mechanisms by which ovarian steroids regulate brain function. His research involved investigating the regulatory mechanisms by which ovarian steroids desensitize adrenergic receptors in the female rodent. He then completed a 5-year post-doctoral fellowship at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey studying the behavioral and pharmacological consequences of opioid receptor gene ablation in mice. Presently, he is still at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, however, his research interests have shifted towards examining the consequences of the knockout of the nociceptin receptor and its endogenous ligand on food consumption and obesity. In addition, he has developed a keen interest in science education leading him to complete a M.A. in education at Fairleigh Dickinson University.

Randall L. Tackett, Ph.D.
Dr. Randall L. Tackett received his Ph.D in Pharmacology and Toxicology from the University of Georgia in 1979. Following a two year postdoctoral fellowship at the Medical College of South Carolina, he joined the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy as an Assistant Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology in 1981. He has served as the Director of Research and Graduate Studies of the College and as Department Head for the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology. In 1995, he was promoted to Professor and joined the Department of Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy in 1997. He is currently the Graduate Coordinator and Director of the Clinical Trials Certificate Program. He received the Georgia Psychological Association’s Outstanding Faculty Award in 1999 for his development of the Postgraduate Psychopharmacology Curriculum in the State of Georgia. The American Psychological Association (APA) recognized Dr. Tackett for his work with the Postgraduate Psychopharmacology Program with an APA 2000 Presidential Citation.

Bret A. Moore, Psy.D., ABPP
Bret A. Moore is a board certified clinical psychologist in San Antonio, Texas, Prescribing Psychologist in New Mexico, and Adjunct Associate Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He is the author or editor of ten books including Pharmacotherapy for Psychologists: Prescribing and Collaborative Roles, Handbook of Clinical Psychopharmacology for Psychologists and Anxiety Disorders: A Guide for Integrating Psychopharmacology and Psychotherapy, which he co-edited with Stephen Stahl. He is also the series editor of Psychopharmacology and Psychotherapy in Clinical Practice for Routledge/Taylor & Francis Press.

Dr. Moore is a former active-duty Army psychologist and two-tour veteran of Iraq. He is a recipient of the Arthur W. Melton Award for Early Career Achievement in Military Psychology from Division 19 of the American Psychological Association and the Early Career Achievement Award from Division 18, and is a Fellow of the American Psychological Association. His views and opinions on clinical and military psychology have been quoted in USA Today, the New York Times, and the Boston Globe, and on NPR, the BBC, CNN, CBS News, Fox News and the CBC.

Wm. Klugh Kennedy, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP
Dr. Kennedy is Associate Professor of Pharmacy and Psychiatry at Mercer University in Savannah Georgia. He is based on the Memorial University Medical Center Campus. He holds a joint appointment with the Mercer College of Pharmacy and Health Science and the Mercer Medical School.

Dr. Kennedy received a Bachelor of Science degree in Pharmacy from the University of Georgia and then a Doctorate of Pharmacy from Idaho State University. He is board certified in psychiatric pharmacy. He is a fellow of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

His teaching, clinical service, and scholarly interests are in the areas of schizophrenia and other psychopharmacology, geriatrics, psychosomatics, associated critical care issues, experiential and interdisciplinary education, substance related disorders, and evidence based practice. Dr. Kennedy has published and presented on these topics locally, regionally, and nationally.


Robert McGrath, Ph.D.
Bob McGrath has been the Director of Training for the M.S. Program in Clinical Psychopharmacology since its inception. He has published extensively and spoken nationally on prescriptive authority for psychologists, including co-editor of the book Pharmacotherapy for Psychologists: Prescribing and Collaborative Roles. He chaired the task force that created the Practice Guidelines Regarding Psychologists’ Involvement in Pharmacological Issues (APA, 2011). He is a past president of APA Division 55 (American Society for the Advancement of Pharmacotherapy) and currently serves as the division's representative to the APA Council of Representatives. He also directs Fairleigh’s Certificate Program in Integrated Primary Care.